I've just come upon a very thorough tutorial on Don't Dream It's Over. This guy really knows what he's doing (and a tiny bit of I Got You at the beginning of the tutorial). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7r8_y62j6Og
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .