For the longest time I always heard "our unsound investments" instead of "Alan's", but it's definitely Alan... in fact I think Neil comments a bit on that line on the FWTTW commentary track, but I could be wrong.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .