I know the feeling. In 2007, they performed 20 minutes from me, but I didn't know them then. They also performed multiple times in a major city a few hours away multiple times both tours. Kills me to think of it now!
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .